## United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

United States Court of Appeals Fifth Circuit

**FILED** 

No. 24-30115

June 24, 2024

Lyle W. Cayce Clerk

DOROTHY NAIRNE, *Doctor*; CLEE E. LOWE, REVEREND; ALICE WASHINGTON, *Doctor*; BLACK VOTERS MATTER CAPACITY BUILDING INSTITUTE; LOUISIANA STATE CONFERENCE OF THE NAACP; STEVEN HARRIS, REVEREND,

Plaintiffs—Appellees,

versus

NANCY LANDRY, in her official capacity as Secretary of State of Louisiana,

Defendant—Appellant,

STATE OF LOUISIANA, by and through Attorney General Elizabeth B. Murrill; PHILLIP DEVILLIER, in his official capacity as Speaker of the Louisiana House of Representative; CAMERON HENRY, in his official capacity as President of the Louisiana Senate,

Intervenors—Appellants,

versus

United States of America,

Intervenor—Appellee.

\_\_\_\_\_

Appeal from the United States District Court for the Middle District of Louisiana USDC No. 3:22-CV-178

## ON PETITION FOR INITIAL HEARING EN BANC

Before ELROD, HAYNES, and DOUGLAS, Circuit Judges.
PER CURIAM:

The petition for initial hearing *en banc* is DENIED. At the request of one of its members, the court was polled, and a majority did not vote in favor of rehearing (Fed. R. App. P. 35 and 5th Cir. R. 35).

In the *en banc* poll, eight judges voted in favor of initial hearing *en banc* (Jones, Smith, Elrod, Willett, Ho, Duncan, Engelhardt, and Oldham) and eight voted against (Richman, Stewart, Southwick, Haynes, Graves, Higginson, Douglas, and Ramirez).

Judge Wilson took no part in the consideration of this petition.

Case: 24-30115 Document: 176-2 Page: 1 Date Filed: 06/24/2024

## United States Court of Appeals

FIFTH CIRCUIT OFFICE OF THE CLERK

LYLE W. CAYCE **CLERK** 

TEL. 504-310-7700 600 S. MAESTRI PLACE, Suite 115 **NEW ORLEANS, LA 70130** 

June 24, 2024

MEMORANDUM TO COUNSEL OR PARTIES LISTED BELOW:

No. 24-30115Nairne v. Landry USDC No. 3:22-CV-178

Enclosed is an order entered in this case.

Sincerely,

LYLE W. CAYCE, Clerk

By:

Monica R. Washington, Deputy Clerk 504-310-7705

Mr. John N. Adcock

Mr. Jorge Benjamin Aguinaga Ms. Nora Ahmed

Mr. Noah Bokat-Lindell

Mr. Brennan Bowen

Mr. E. Mark Braden

Ms. Morgan Brungard

Mr. Colin Burke

Mr. Dayton Campbell-Harris

Mr. Adriel I. Cepeda Derieux

Mr. Ming Cheung

Mr. Robert Stephen Clark

Mr. John Clifton Conine Jr.

Mr. Jared Evans

Ms. Erin Helene Flynn

Ms. Amanda Giglio

Mr. Phillip Michael Gordon

Mr. Daniel Hessel

Ms. Cassie Holt

Ms. Megan Christine Keenan

Mr. Patrick T. Lewis

Ms. Katherine McKnight

Mr. Michael Warren Mengis

Ms. Elizabeth Baker Murrill

Mr. Garrett Muscatel

Mr. Stuart Naifeh

Ms. Erika Prouty

Mr. Richard Bryan Raile

Mrs. Alyssa Riggins

Ms. Isabel Sara Rohani

Ms. Kathryn C. Sadasivan

Mr. Phillip Strach
Ms. Tiffany Alora Thomas
Mr. Jason Brett Torchinsky
Mr. Robert J. Tucker
Mr. John Carroll Walsh
Ms. Victoria Wenger