APPROVED CHAPTER SEPTEMBER 29, 2021 487 BY GOVERNOR PUBLIC LAW

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD

TWO THOUSAND TWENTY-ONE

H.P. 1305 - L.D. 1739

An Act To Reapportion Maine's Congressional Districts

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

Sec. 1. 21-A MRSA §1205, as amended by PL 2011, c. 466, §1, is repealed.

Sec. 2. Apportionment of congressional districts; legislative intent. The State is divided into 2 districts for the election of Representatives to the United States Congress, with one Representative elected from each of the districts established in Part II of the unanimous plan submitted by the apportionment commission to the Clerk of the House and the Secretary of the Senate on September 27, 2021. Notwithstanding the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 21-A, the Legislature intends by the passage of this Act to implement the plan establishing the congressional districts and to make the apportionment as described in Appendix A of this Act for elections beginning in 2022.

Sec. 3. Codification of congressional districts. The Revisor of Statutes shall submit a bill to the Second Regular Session of the 130th Legislature codifying in the Maine Revised Statutes the congressional districts established in Part II of the unanimous plan submitted by the apportionment commission to the Clerk of the House and the Secretary of the Senate on September 27, 2021.

Sec. 4. Application. This Act applies to the election of Representatives to the United States Congress first occurring in 2022 and thereafter.

APPENDIX A

The Commission recommends that the Congressional Districts be as follows:

1. First District. Population 681,179.

The First District consists of the counties of Cumberland, Knox, Lincoln, Sagadahoc and York and the following municipalities and areas within Kennebec County: Albion, Benton, China, Clinton, Litchfield, Pittston, Unity Twp, Vassalboro, Waterville, West Gardiner, Windsor, Winslow.

2. Second District. Population 681,180.

The Second District consists of the counties of Androscoggin, Aroostook, Franklin, Hancock, Oxford, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Somerset, Waldo and Washington and the following municipalities and areas within Kennebec County: Augusta, Belgrade, Chelsea, Farmingdale, Fayette, Gardiner, Hallowell, Manchester, Monmouth, Mount Vernon, Oakland, Randolph, Readfield, Rome, Sidney, Vienna, Wayne, Winthrop.