APL-2023-00121

Albany County Clerk's Index No. 904972/2022 Appellate Division, Third Department Docket No. CV-22-2265

Court of Appeals

STATE OF NEW YORK



ANTHONY S. HOFFMANN, MARCO CARRIÓN, COURTNEY GIBBONS, LAUREN FOLEY, MARY KAIN, KEVIN MEGGETT, CLINTON MILLER, SETH PEARCE, VERITY VAN TASSEL RICHARDS, and NANCY VAN TASSEL,

Petitioners-Respondents,

For an Order and Judgment Pursuant to Article 78 of the New York Civil Practice Law and Rules

against

INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMISSIONER ROSS BRADY, INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMISSIONER JOHN CONWAY III, INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMISSIONER LISA HARRIS, INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMISSIONER CHARLES NESBITT and INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMISSIONER WILLIS H. STEPHENS,

Respondents-Appellants,

(Caption Continued on the Reverse)

NOTICE OF CROSS-MOTION FOR STAY

TROUTMAN PEPPER HAMILTON
SANDERS LLP
Attorneys for Intervenors-RespondentsAppellants
875 Third Avenue
New York, New York 10022
212-704-6000
misha.tseytlin@troutman.com

Of Counsel:

Misha Tseytlin

Date Completed: August 21, 2023

THE NEW YORK STATE INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMISSION, INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMISSION CHAIRPERSON KEN JENKINS, INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMISSIONER IVELISSE CUEVAS-MOLINA and INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMISSIONER ELAINE FRAZIER,

Respondents,

and

TIM HARKENRIDER, GUY C. BROUGHT, LAWRENCE CANNING, PATRICIA CLARINO, GEORGE DOOHER, JR., STEPHEN EVANS, LINDA FANTON, JERRY FISHMAN, JAY FRANTZ, LAWRENCE GARVEY, ALAN NEPHEW, SUSAN ROWLEY, JOSEPHINE THOMAS, and MARIANNE VIOLANTE,

Intervenors-Respondents-Appellants.

COURT OF APPEALS OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK	
Anthony S. Hoffmann; Marco Carrión; Courtney Gibbons; Lauren Foley; Mary Kain; Kevin Meggett; Clinton Miller; Seth Pearce; Verity Van Tassel Richards; and Nancy Van	Case No. APL-2023-00121
Tassel,	Appellate Division, Third
Petitioners-Respondents,	Department Docket No. CV-22-2265
-against-	Albany County Supreme Court Index No. 904972-22
The New York State Independent Redistricting	maca ivo. 7047/2-22
Commission; Independent Redistricting Commission Chairperson Ken Jenkins; Independent Redistricting	NOTICE OF CROSS-
Commissioner Ivelisse Cuevas-Molina and Independent	MOTION FOR STAY
Redistricting Commissioner Elaine Frazier,	PENDING APPEAL
Respondents-Respondents,	
Independent Redistricting Commissioner Ross Brady; Independent Redistricting Commissioner John Conway III; Independent Redistricting Commissioner Lisa Harris; Independent Commissioner Charles Nesbitt and Independent Redistricting Commissioner Willis H. Stephens,	
Respondents-Appellants,	
-and-	
Tim Harkenrider; Guy C. Brought; Lawrence Canning; Patricia Clarino; George Dooher, Jr.; Stephen Evans; Linda Fanton; Jerry Fishman; Jay Frantz; Lawrence Garvey; Alan Nephew; Susan Rowley; Josephine Thomas; and Marianne Violante,	
Intervenors-Respondents - Appellants.	

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that, upon the annexed Memorandum of Law, dated August 21, 2023, the undersigned will move this Court at the courthouse of the Court of Appeals, 20 Eagle

Street, Albany, New York, on September 5, 2023, at 10:00 a.m., or as soon therefore as counsel can be heard, for an Order pursuant to CPLR 5519(c), granting a stay pending appeal of the Order of the Appellate Division, Third Department in the above-captioned matter, together with such other and further relief as the Court deems just and proper, should the Court determine that no automatic stay under CPLR 5519(a)(1) is already in place.

PLEASE TAKE FURTHER NOTICE that opposition papers, if any, must be filed with the Clerk's office on or before the return date under Rule 500.21(c).

DATED: New York, New York August 21, 2023

TROUTMAN PEPPER HAMILTON SANDERS LLP

Mint In

By:

Misha Tseytlin, Reg. No. 4642609

875 Third Avenue

New York, New York 10022

(212) 704-6000

misha.tseytlin@troutman.com

TO: DREYER BOYAJIAN LLP

James R. Peluso 75 Columbia Street Albany, New York 12210 Tel: (518) 463-7784 jpeluso@dblawny.com

ELIAS LAW GROUP LLP

Aria C. Branch
Richard A. Medina
Samuel T. Ward-Packard
250 Massachusetts Avenue NW
Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001
Tel: (202) 968-4490
abranch@elias.law

rmedina@elias.law swardpackard@elias.law ELIAS LAW GROUP LLP Jonathan P. Hawley 1700 Seventh Avenue Suite 2100 Seattle, Washington 98101 Tel: (202) 656-0179 jhawley@elias.law

PERILLO HILL LLP Timothy Hill, Esq. 285 West Main Street, Suite 203 Sayville, New York 11782 Tel.: (631) 582-9422 thill@mphlawgroup.com

JENNER & BLOCK LLP Jacob D. Alderdice, Esq. 1155 Avenue of the Americas New York, New York 10036 Tel: (212) 891-1600 jalderdice@jenner.com

NEW YORK STATE INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMISSION Karen Blatt & Darren McGeary 302A Washington Avenue Extension Albany, NY 12203 blattk@nyirc.gov

EMERY CELLI BRINCKERHOFF & ABADY, LLP Matthew D. Brinckerhoff Andrew G. Celli 600 Fifth Avenue, 10th Floor New York, New York 10020 Tel.: (212) 763-5000 mbrinckerhoff@ecbawm.com acelli@ecbawm.com

COURT OF APPEALS OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK -----X Anthony S. Hoffmann; Marco Carrión; Courtney Gibbons; Lauren Foley; Mary Kain; Kevin Meggett; Clinton Miller;

Seth Pearce; Verity Van Tassel Richards; and Nancy Van

Petitioners-Respondents,

-against-

Tassel,

The New York State Independent Redistricting Commission; Independent Redistricting Commission Chairperson Ken Jenkins; Independent Redistricting Commissioner Ivelisse Cuevas-Molina and Independent Redistricting Commissioner Elaine Frazier,

Respondents-Respondents,

Independent Redistricting Commissioner Ross Brady; Independent Redistricting Commissioner John Conway III; Independent Redistricting Commissioner Lisa Harris; Independent Commissioner Charles Nesbitt and Independent Redistricting Commissioner Willis H. Stephens,

Respondents-Appellants,

-and-

Tim Harkenrider; Guy C. Brought; Lawrence Canning; Patricia Clarino; George Dooher, Jr.; Stephen Evans; Linda Fanton; Jerry Fishman; Jay Frantz; Lawrence Garvey; Alan Nephew; Susan Rowley; Josephine Thomas; and Marianne Violante.

> Intervenors-Respondents -Appellants.

Case No. APL-2023-00121

Appellate Division, Third Department Docket No. CV-22-2265

Albany County Supreme Court Index No. 904972-22

AFFIRMATION OF MISHA TSEYTLIN IN SUPPORT OF **OPPOSITION TO MOTION** TO VACATE STAY PENDING APPEAL, AND **ALTERNATIVE CROSS-MOTION FOR STAY**

I, Misha Tseytlin, an attorney admitted to the practice of law before the courts of the State

of New York, and not a party to the above-entitled action, affirm the following to be true under

the penalties of perjury pursuant to CPLR 2106:

1. I am a partner with Troutman Pepper Hamilton Sanders LLP, attorneys for

Intervenors-Respondents-Appellants ("Intervenors") in the above-captioned matter. I respectfully

submit this Affirmation in support of Intervenors' opposition to Petitioners' request to vacate or

clarify the automatic stay imposed by CPLR 5519(a)(1) and, in the alternative, Intervenors' Cross-

Motion under CPLR 5519(c) for a stay pending appeal of the Order of the Appellate Division,

Third Department in the above-captioned matter, together with such other and further relief as the

Court deems just and proper, should the Court determine that no automatic stay under CPLR

5519(a)(1) is already in place.

2. This Opposition and Cross-Motion is also supported by Intervenors' Memorandum

Of Law In Opposition To Motion To Vacate Stay Pending Appeal Or, In The Alternative, In

Support Of Motion For Stay Pending Appeal, dated August 21, 2023, which is incorporated by

reference. Intervenors' arguments in opposition to Petitioners' request to vacate or clarify the

automatic stay and in support of a stay are set forth in detail in the Memorandum Of Law.

DATED:

New York, New York August 21, 2023

TROUTMAN PEPPER HAMILTON SANDERS LLP

By:

Misha Tseytlin, Reg. No. 4642609

875 Third Avenue

New York, New York 10022

(212) 704-6000

misha.tseytlin@troutman.com