FILED 06-25-2025 CLERK OF WISCONSIN SUPREME COURT

Supreme Court of Misconsin



No. 2025AP996-OA BOTHFELD V. WISCONSIN ELECTIONS COMM'N

June 25, 2025

The Court has entered the following order:

On May 7, 2025, petitioners, Elizabeth Bothfeld et al., filed a petition for leave to commence an original action under WIS. STAT. § (Rule) 809.70, together with a supporting memorandum.

On June 5, 2025, the named respondents in this matter, the Wisconsin Elections Commission, its members, and its administrator, filed a response taking no position on the merits of the petition.

On June 6, 2025, the court received intervention motions and accompanying documents from proposed-intervenors-respondents, Congressman Glenn Grothman et al. ("Congressmen"), and proposed-intervenors-petitioners, Wisconsin Business Leaders for Democracy et al.

On June 6, 2025, the court received motions for leave to file a non-party brief amicus curiae from: (1) Governor Tony Evers; (2) the Wisconsin Legislature; (3) Billie L. Johnson et al.; and (4) Wisconsin Manufacturing & Commerce Inc. By order of June 9, 2025, the court granted each of these motions and accepted the non-party briefs for filing.

On June 11, 2025, the court received a motion of petitioners, Elizabeth Bothfeld et al., for leave to file a reply brief in support of the petition for leave to commence an original action. By order of June 20, 2025, the court granted this motion and accepted for filing the proposed reply brief that accompanied the motion.

By order of June 20, 2025, the court granted the Congressmen's motion to intervene and accepted for filing the proposed response to the original action petition and proposed appendix that accompanied the motion.

Upon consideration of the above,

IT IS ORDERED that the petition for leave to commence an original action is denied; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the motion to intervene filed by Wisconsin Business Leaders for Democracy et al. is denied as moot.

Samuel A. Christensen Clerk of Supreme Court Page 2 of 2

Distribution List:

Charlotte Gibson (Electronic Notice) William K. Hancock (Electronic Notice) Karla Z. Keckhaver (Electronic Notice) Abha Khanna (Electronic Notice) Jacob D. Shelly (Electronic Notice) Barret Van Sicklen (Electronic Notice) Julie Zuckerbrod (Electronic Notice) Jessie Augustyn (U.S. Mail) Mel Barnes (U.S. Mail) Nathalie E. Burmeister (U.S. Mail) Samuel Davis (U.S. Mail) T.R. Edwards (U.S. Mail) Marina Eisner (U.S. Mail) Richard M. Esenberg (U.S. Mail) Ruth M. Greenwood (U.S. Mail) Nathan Kane (U.S. Mail)

Kevin M. LeRoy (U.S. Mail) Jeffrey A. Mandell (U.S. Mail) Sally C. Marsh (U.S. Mail) Taylor A. R. Meehan (U.S. Mail) Douglas M. Poland (U.S. Mail) Colin Thomas Roth (U.S. Mail) Marie Elizabeth Sayer (U.S. Mail) Nicholas Stephanopoulos (U.S. Mail) Christine P. Sun (U.S. Mail) Misha Tseytlin (U.S. Mail) Lucas Thomas Vebber (U.S. Mail) Daniel M. Vitagliano (U.S. Mail)