State website: Senate committee, House committee
2010-cycle districts: Congress, State Senate, State House  « NEW 
2000-cycle districts: www.legislature.state.tn.us/districtmaps/index.html
Primary governing law: Tenn. Const. art. II, §§ 4, 5, 6

The Latest

Congress: On January 13, the state legislature passed HB 1558, which was signed on January 26.

State leg.: On January 13, the state legislature passed HB 1555 (state House), which was signed on January 26; on January 19, it passed SB 1514 (state Senate), which was signed on February 9. The state Senate lines have been challenged in court.

  • Institution

    Redistricting political control:

    Governor State Senate State House
    Congressional lines R 13 D, 19 R 33 D, 64R, 1 O
    State legislative lines R 13 D, 19 R 33 D, 64R, 1 O
    2000 cong. lines R 18 D, 15 R 57 D, 41 R
    2000 state lines R 18 D, 15 R 57 D, 41 R

    Tennessee's congressional and state legislative district lines are drawn by the state legislature, as a regular statute, subject to gubernatorial veto.

  • Timing

    Census data were delivered to Tennessee on March 16, 2011.

    Tennessee state law does not impose a particular deadline for drawing either congressional or state legislative lines, though candidates must file for congressional and state legislative primary elections by April 5, 2012. [Tenn. Code § 2-5-101(a)(1)] The 2011 regular legislative session began on January 11, 2011, and ended on May 31, 2011.

    Tennessee law expressly permits redrawing state legislative lines mid-decade, before the next Census. For congressional lines, a state statute seems to prohibit redrawing the lines mid-decade, though the legislature could alter that statute if it chose. [Tenn. Const. art. II, § 4; French v. Boner, 963 F.2d 890 (6th Cir. 1992); Tenn. Code § 2-16-102]

  • Public input

    Public hearing materials can be found here.

  • Criteria

    Like all states, Tennessee must comply with constitutional equal population requirements and with section 2 of the Voting Rights Act.

    For Tennessee's state Senate lines, the state constitution further requires that districts preserve counties whole where possible; state statutes further add that at most 30 counties may be split. Tennessee statutes (which may be altered by the legislature) also demand that state legislative districts be contiguous. [Tenn. Const. art. II, § 4; Tenn. Code § 3-1-102, -103; State ex rel. Lockert v. Crowell, 631 S.W.2d 702 (Tenn. 1982)]

  • 2010-cycle cases

    Moore v. Tennessee, No. 12-0402-III (Tenn. Chancery Ct., Nashville): an action in state court challenging Tennessee's state Senate districts, based on alleged violations of the state constitution's requirement that county lines be preserved where possible.
         - Complaint (Mar. 16, 2012) and amended complaint (Mar. 19).
         - Plaintiffs' motion for summary judgment (June 20), statement of facts (Sept. 21).
              - Opposition by defendants, intervenors (Nov. 7), reply (Nov. 14).
              - Order denying motion for summary judgment (Dec. 20).
         - Motion to dismiss (Jan. 31, 2013), opposition (Feb. 11), reply (Feb. 13).
              - Order granting motion to dismiss (Feb. 19).
    The latest: On February 19, the court dismissed the case.

  • 2000 cycle

    In the 2000 redistricting cycle, the Tennessee legislature enacted congressional, state Senate, and state House plans that were each signed on January 17, 2002. Though an early challenge to the 1990-cycle districts was filed in federal court in 2001 (and rejected), it does not appear that any of the plans actually passed by the legislature was challenged in court. [Crone v. Darnell, 176 F. Supp. 2d 814 (W.D. Tenn. 2001)]

Congress State legislature   Maps & Data   States      
     Current status      Current status            Alabama      Indiana      Nebraska      South Carolina
     Timing      Timing            Alaska      Iowa      Nevada      South Dakota
     Authority      Authority   Litigation        Arizona      Kansas      New Hampshire      Tennessee
          Institution           Institution            Arkansas      Kentucky      New Jersey      Texas
          Party control           Party control            California      Louisiana      New Mexico      Utah
     Criteria      Criteria   Reform        Colorado      Maine      New York      Vermont
               Connecticut      Maryland      North Carolina      Virginia
               Delaware      Massachusetts      North Dakota      Washington
               Florida      Michigan      Ohio      West Virginia
         Georgia      Minnesota      Oklahoma      Wisconsin
Overview of redistricting     Further resources        Hawaii      Mississippi      Oregon      Wyoming
Why it matters Redistricting criteria        My work        Idaho      Missouri      Pennsylvania  
Public engagement Preclearance        Tools        Illinois      Montana      Rhode Island